Mission Statement


A Soul for Europe: Culture, Citizenship, Democracy
A Soul for Europe connects and mobilizes citizens and democratic institutions across Europe, fostering a sense of responsibility for the future of Europe and democracy through culture. We connect communities in order to build a common European public space and a culture of proactive citizenship.

In our work, we link all levels of governance with change-makers from the cultural field and civil society, developing projects that ensure Europe makes dynamic use of its cultural assets and creative potential. To realize these projects we work in three core areas: Culture and Citizenship, Cities for Europe, and Culture in a Global World. In our experience, these areas, and the projects we have developed within them, have demonstrated beyond any doubt that culture is a central strategic factor in sustaining and deepening democratic development across the local, regional, national and European levels.


Strategy Group
The heart of the “A Soul for Europe” initiative is the Strategy Group: more than 40 civil-society representatives from over 20 countries from the cultural, political, business, research and media sectors. The Strategy Group is responsible for the conceptual development and dissemination of the idea of “A Soul for Europe” through projects and initiatives.


The link between civil society and the European Parliament
The initiative is supported by an influential Advisory Board chaired by Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament. Other members include Joachim Rogall (Chairman of the Robert Bosch Stiftung’s Board of Management), Erhard Busek (Chairman of the Institute for the Danube Region and Central Europe) and a number of former and current Members of the European Parliament from different countries and political parties. With the Berlin Conference Steering Committee within the Advisory Board, we continually develop the Berlin Conference. Members are current and former parliamentarians Maria Badia i Cutchet, Tanja Fajon, Monica Frassoni, Jo Leinen, Morten Lokkegaard, Doris Pack, Hans-Gert Pöttering, Hannes Sowboda and Secretary-General of the EP, Klaus Welle.